The Different Colors Of Awareness Ribbons And Their Representations

For decades now, ribbons have been used to represent an advocacy. It all began with the Yellow Ribbon and its commemoration of the US troops fighting in the war way back in the 70s. What was once used merely to represent the thoughts and prayers of the people quickly turned into a wildfire advocacy. Soon after, other ribbon colors were introduced for a number of different causes such as cancer, HIV/AIDS epidemic, and terrorism. What began in the 70s is now a worldwide phenomenon. Take a look at how ribbon awareness has grown. Here are the different colors of awareness ribbons and what they commonly represent.

  • Black is used to represent the Prisoners of War (POWs) and the MIAs, skin cancer, gang prevention, sleeping disorders and apnea, mourning and melanoma.
  • BLACK + LIGHT BLUE. Color combination that is used to represent the loss of a son.
  • BLACK + PINK. Color combination that is used to represent the loss of a daughter and bone marrow donation.
  • Blue represents education, child abuse, Down syndrome, mental health awareness, chronic fatigue syndrome, arthritis, and bowel cancer.
  • This color is used to represent the fight against tobacco and colorectal cancer.
  • Hospice care, headaches and migraines, blood factor disorders, Hughes syndrome, and polio survivors.
  • Gold represents childhood cancer.
  • Green represents a wide range of causes like Depression, Tissue and Organ donation, Mental Health, Bipolar disorder, eye injuries, leukemia, Kidney cancer, stem cell research, SAVE THE EARTH, GO GREEN, Recycling, and medical marijuana among others.
  • Asthma, brain cancer and disorders, lung cancer, COPD, and hearing impairment.
  • LIGHT BLUE. Prostate cancer, men’s health, thyroid disease.
  • LIGHT GRAY. Disable people, March of Dime.
  • LIME GREEN. Color representing lymphoma and lyme disease among others.
  • LIGHT PURPLE. Color that represents Cancer as a whole.
  • NAVY BLUE. Water safety, free speech, child abuse prevention and crime victims’ rights among others.
  • Diabetes (Children), Diversity in culture, racial tolerance, motorcycle safety.
  • Lung Cancer and disease, multiple sclerosis and emphysema.
  • Breast Cancer Awareness, Birth Parents, and Nursing Mothers.
  • PINK + BLUE. Pregnancy, infant loss and male breast cancer.
  • Alzheimer’s disease, animal and domestic abuses, religious tolerance, 9/11 Victims, ADD + ADHD and cancer survivors.
  • Used to represent gay pride.
  • HIV/AIDS, blood disorders and donors, and heart disease related causes.
  • Brain disorders and disabilities, children with learning disabilities.
  • Cervical, Ovarian, and Gynecological Cancer.
  • Bone cancer, vision impairment or blindness, victims of terrorism, peace, right to life, diabetes, students’ sexual assault.
  • Support Our Troops, MIA, POWs, Suicide prevention, adoptive parents, missing children, liver disease and cancer, and genocide awareness among others.

Note that the Paper Mart satin ribbon colors stated here only represent the common awareness campaigns.